Bangalore Urological Society (BUS)

The Bangalore Urological Society has been in existence since four decades. In year 1980-81, Prof H S Bhat, Prof Joseph Anthony, Prof Laji Joseph, Dr A KAnnamalai, Dr T S Jairam, Dr B T Sampathkumar would meet in their residences every month and discussed regarding cases which they had seen and the management difficulties encountered. This has been growing since then and at present Bangalore Urological Society has more than 250 members.

Bangalore Urological Society was registered with the Registrar of Societies in Bangalore on 2/12/2000. The Income tax department has approved our society under section 12A(a) which recognizes our association as charitable institution. We were accorded tax exemption under Section 80G of the income tax act.

Bangalore Urological Society meets on the last Friday of every month where interesting cases are discussed by the urologists of the city. There are also teaching sessions for the postgraduate students attached to various institution in the city.

Bangalore Urology Society has been holding continuing Urologic Education program in memory of Late Dr T S Jairam since 1999 every year on different topics. This Continuing Urologic Education program is well attended by Urologists from all over India. Reputed faculty are invited every year for this CUE. Bangalore Urological Society also conducts free camps for the benefit of the General public which is conducted in different hospitals across the city by the members.

Bangalore Urological Society has organized South Zone as well as National Urology conference and held various National and International live operative workshops over the years.

The society also helps in creating and fostering a spirit of goodwill amongst its members by its regular meetings and activities.

Mysore Society of Genito Urinary Surgeons (MYSOGUS)

Mysore Society of Genitourinary Surgeons (MYSOGUS) was formed in 1990 by a team of enthusiastic urologists from Mysore including Dr Krishna Rao, Dr Ranganath, Dr Mahesh Kumar and Dr Xavier D’Souza. They were later joined by Dr Prakash K Prabhu and Dr Madappa K M in 1992 providing Urology services to Mysore, Mandya and Coorg districts.

MYSOGUS has hosted various conferences and workshops, namely ASU conference at CFTRI, Mysore, 1992 and ERCAD and later SZUSICON and KUACON at Infosys campus Mysore, 2013. The first PCNL performed at Holdsworth Memorial Hospital. Mysore way back in1989 and the first living related Renal transplantation at JSS hospital Mysore in 1993 and later Vikram Hospital Mysore in 2004.

Urologists like Dr M P Raju, Dr Ramgopal, Dr Nandakishore and few others also joined the society. The prestigious M P Raju Endowment lecture is well known and conducted at KUACON every year.

MYSOGUS membership has reached 21 as of 2017. They have regular monthly meetings during which Urology postgraduates present clinical cases, journals, subject seminars etc. Interesting cases, operative photos and video presentation are shared and discussed by consultants.

Mangalore Urology Forum (MUF)

Mangalore Urology Forum (MUF) came into existence in 1996. Group of Urologists under the guidance of Dr. P. Venugopal, met once in two months and discuss clinically important cases. It has come a long way since then, with over 23 registered members and 17 post graduates and meetings conducted every month. At present all the members meet on a predecided date once a month and discuss interesting cases from post graduates point of view. MUF is in the process of registering the body under Registrar of Societies. Dr Ranjit Shetty will be the First President, Dr Altaf Khan the Secretary and Dr. Rajeev TP the Treasurer.

The main aim of the Forum is to promote best current practices in Urology, encourage scientific research in Urology and support academic activities of post graduates. MUF in association with Urology Association of Kerala will be organizing UAK 2017 conference at Bekal in November as well as KUACON 2018 in Mangaluru.

Siddeshwar Urology Society

This society was founded in 2012, with a group of Urologists from North Karnataka and Southern Maharashtra. All members including post graduates meet every 2nd month and discuss interesting urology cases, journal articles etc. Guest lectures are also held. A senior Urologist usually becomes the president and two secretaries, one each from Karnataka and Maharashtra are chosen. They coordinate all the CME / academic programmes and chose the place to conduct scientific programme alternatively in Karnataka and Maharashtra. There are already 26 members as of 2017 and a whatasap group has been has also been created.

Hubli-Dharwad NEPHRO-URO Forum

Hubli-Dharwad NEPHRO-URO forum was started in February 2015. It is a common platform for both Urologists and Nephrologists of the twin cities to interact. Since both fraternities have to often work closely in managing patients, this unique gathering was conceptualised with a view to enhance understanding between the two and improve clinical outcomes. The forum has been holding regular meetings since it's inception, on the third Friday, once every 2 months. It has 21 members as of date and is growing. Interesting cases and journal articles are discussed at every meet, with the sessions being chaired by senior urologists and nephrologists. In addition to this, non-academic but relevant topics also find a place in the forum. The meetings are well attended and are seen as a great platform for the new and budding Urologists and Nephrologists of Hubli- Dharwad. Regular updates are maintained on the WhatsApp group that the forum members have.